Responsive image

Presentation of the project


Personal names constitute a fundamental source for our understanding of ancient societies.  Onomastics reveal much about an individual’s cultural, social and geographic identity. Studying them throws important light on the processes of cultural change that affected the inhabitants of the Roman Empire as well as on family relations and the social organization of civic communities across the Roman provinces. 

The Iberian peninsula has long been a fertile area for the study of ancient onomastics. It has benefited from a long-standing tradition of research by major scholars such as María Lourdes Albertos Firmat and Jürgen Untermann and from a landmark publication: the Atlas antroponímico de la Lusitania romana, published in 2003 by the Institut Ausonius (Université Michel de Montaigne-Bordeaux III) and the Fundación de Estudios Romanos (Museo Nacional de Arte Romano, Mérida), the result of ten years of research by the « Grupo Mérida », an international research network comprising colleagues from Spain, Portugal, France and Canada. 

This work, which marks a fundamental advance in research on the onomastics of the Roman Empire, provides the scholarly community with an indispensable research tool. Based on the information available until 2002, its 339 maps and 2030 different names illumine in a specific and original manner the social fabric of the province of Lusitania in the High Empire. 

This web-site ADOPIA represents the continuation of this project. It combines the results of cutting-edge epigraphic research with all the advantages of new digital technologies, since its digital format allows new epigraphic data to be rapidly incorporated, resulting in a constant updating of the material.

The numerous possibilities that a Digital Humanities approach offers add considerable value and impact to the information now available, since ADOPIA allows both simple and advanced searches of names and individual naming practices attested in the provinces of Roman Hispania, as well as immediate mapping of the results of such searches. 

After uploading the material from Lusitania, ADOPIA will introduce onomastic data from the two other Hispanic provinces. The research team is currently working on the material from Baetica.

The work currently in process forms part of a research project funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada / Conseil des recherches en science humaines du Canada (SSHRC/CRSH): “Names and Identity in Roman Spain: the ADOPIA project” (Partnership Development Grant #890-2017-0039). This major support is supplemented by that provided by ADOPIA partner institutions the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (York University), the Institut Ausonius (CNRS – Université Bordeaux-Montaigne), the Centro CIL II (Universidad de Alcalá) and the Archivo Epigráfico de Hispania (Universidad Complutense, Madrid).

Responsive image

Présentation du projet


Les noms de personne sont une source fondamentale de l’histoire des sociétés anciennes, parce que l’onomastique est le reflet de l’identité culturelle, sociale et géographique des individus. Son apport est donc essentiel pour analyser les relations familiales et l’organisation sociale des communautés civiques provinciales et pour mesurer les transformations culturelles qu’ont connues au fil des siècles les populations de l’Empire romain.

Sur ce point, la péninsule Ibérique a bénéficié d’une longue tradition de recherche illustrée par les travaux de grands savants comme María Lourdes Albertos Firmat et Jürgen Untermann, et, en 2003, par l’Atlas antroponímico de la Lusitania romana, publié par l’Institut Ausonius (Université Michel-de-Montaigne-Bordeaux III) et la Fundación de Estudios Romanos (Museo Nacional de Arte Romano, Mérida) et réalisé par le « Grupo Mérida », réseau de recherche international qui a réuni des chercheurs d’Espagne, du Portugal, de France et du Canada. 

Résultat d’une décennie de recherche, cet ouvrage qui a fait date, représente une étape fondamentale dans la recherche onomastique sur l’Empire romain. Il met à la disposition de la communauté scientifique un instrument de travail indispensable. Partant de toutes les informations disponibles jusqu’à 2002, il offre, en 339 cartes et en 2030 noms recensés, un éclairage particulier et original sur la société de la province de Lusitanie du Haut-Empire. 

ADOPIA est la continuation de ce projet, dans une version digitale et dynamique qui combine une recherche épigraphique innovante et tous les avantages des nouvelles technologies puisque le format digital permet l’introduction rapide de toutes les nouveautés épigraphiques, c’est-à-dire l a  constante actualisation des données.  

Les possibilités qu’offrent les humanités numériques ajoutent ainsi une valeur et un impact considérables aux informations disponibles, car ADOPIA propose des recherches simples et plus complexes sur les noms et les dénominations de personnes attestés dans les provinces romaines de l'Hispanie, dont le détail est aussi immédiatement accessible par la cartographie qui les accompagne. 

Après l’enregistrement des données de la Lusitanie, ADOPIA accueillera les informations onomastiques de deux autres provinces hispaniques. Les données de la Bétique sont en cours d’étude. 

Les travaux actuels sont subventionnés par un programme de recherche du Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada– Conseil des recherches en sciences humaines du Canada  (SSHRC/CRSH), « Names and Identity in Roman Spain: the ADOPIA Project » (Subvention de développement de partenariat #890-2017-0039). Ce patronage essentiel s’ajoute à ceux que les différentes équipes d’ADOPIA ont reçu de la Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (Université York), de l’Institut Ausonius (CNRS – Université Bordeaux-Montaigne), du Centro CIL II (Université d’Alcalá) et de l’Archivo Epigráfico de Hispania (Université Complutense de Madrid).